New Translation of the Roman Missal

22/07/2011 16:18

The Confiteor will also sound slightly different, once again to closer reflect the Latin text: Understanding the Revised Mass Texts, "offers a humbler was to collect ourselves before stepping any further into prayer."

I confess to almighty God

and to you, my brothers and sisters,

that I have greatly sinned,

in my thoughts and in my words,

in what I have done and in what I have failed to do,

 

And, striking their breast, they say:

 

through my fault, through my fault,

through my most grievous fault,

 

Then they continue:

 

therefore I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,

and all the Angels and Saints,

and you, my brothers and sisters,

to pray for me to the Lord our God.

Based on an ancient prayer, this version of the Penitential Rite, reminds us of our union not only with the people around us at this celebration of Holy Mass, but also with the Church Triumphant, the angels and saints, as we seek their prayers and intercession for the mercy of God. The repetition of „through my fault‟, in the words of Fr Paul Turner in the booklet

 

("Excerpt from the English translation of The Roman Missal © 2010, International Commission on English in the Liturgy Corporation. All rights reserved.")

Back

Search site

© 2011 All rights reserved.